There are 179 English Hewitts in total, and they fall into six geographical groups, three smaller and three larger.

I’ve got 30-odd left, which all being well I will complete in about six trips to the north of England during 2024 and 2025.

Carousel pics: Ingleborough from Fountains Fell; The Cheviot; the Ill Bell ridge from Caudle Moor; Blencathra from Great Lingy Hut

In southern England there’s just one Hewitt, High Willhays on Dartmoor. I climbed it on the Devon stage of my cross-England walk, and again in 2019 on a two-night backpacking preparation for the 2019 Great Outdoors Challenge.

There are two Hewitts in the Peak District, Kinder Scout and Bleaklow Head. I climbed these often in the 1970s, but most recently revisited the latter on the Peak District stage of my cross-England walk.

The northernmost Hewitts are the Cheviots in Northumberland – just six Hewitts, but I’ve climbed them all. To their south, all loosely considered to be in the Pennine chain, are the Northern Pennines, which include the mighty Cross Fell – eight of these left – and the varied hills of the Yorkshire Dales – four remain, all in my ‘Dales North’ group.

The Cheviots
Northern Pennines
Yorkshire Dales North
Yorkshire Dales South

That leaves the Lake District, so large that I’ve subdivided it into six, based on Wainwright’s geographical classification. Large parts of this, especially in the south and west, still await me.

Far Eastern fells
Eastern fells
Central and Northern fells
North-Western fells
Western fells